User-Agent  and IP Address Comments
User Agents > Twiceler

Twiceler

Rating: +3 Mike - 3 May 2007 1:41 PM
Seeing this bot quite often lately. The full user-agent string is: Mozilla/5.0 (Twiceler-0.9 http://www.cuill.com/twiceler/robot.html).

The page it mentions in the user-agent string says just:

"Twiceler is an experimental robot. Please contact costello@cuill.com if you have any problems.
Twiceler should obey robots.txt."

This bot uses the following IP addresses:
38.99.13.121
38.99.13.122
38.99.13.123
38.99.13.124
38.99.44.101
38.99.44.102
38.99.44.103
38.99.44.104
 Reply  
Rating: +1 Doug - 29 May 2007 11:18 PM
Twiceler does not obey robots txt to ban it. To eliminate it from leeching bandwidth enter this code in the .htaccess file

order allow,deny
deny from 38.99
allow from all

see here http://www.clockwatchers.com/htaccess_block.html

It uses a large number IP address all from 38.99

This robot leeched nearly 2gb of nabdwidth on one site I run in days and has been running rife on others until it was blocked.

Doug
 Reply  
Rating: +1 Doug - 29 May 2007 11:16 PM
Twiceler does not obey robots txt to ban it. To eliminate it from leeching bandwidth enter this code in the .htaccess file

order allow,deny
deny from 38.99
allow from all

see here http://www.clockwatchers.com/htaccess_block.html

It uses a large number IP address all from 38.99

This robot leeched nearly 2gb of nabdwidth on one site I run in days and has been running rife on others until it was blocked.

Doug
 Reply  
Rating: 0 stile - 30 May 2007 12:35 AM
Thanks for posting this.  I was getting way too much traffic from this bot.

-stile
 Reply  
Rating: +1 Doug - 2 Jun 2007 3:00 PM
Twiceler has come back with an alternative IP address starting 64.1

order allow,deny
deny from 38.99
deny from 64.1
allow from all

This will block it but also anyone properly using that IP address. I don't think that there will be that many ;-)

If your server allows it this code will block it and other user agents( If you add the code ie googlebot if you did not want Google's bots indexing your site!

RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} EmailSiphon
RewriteRule .* - [F,L]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} Exabot
RewriteRule .* - [F,L]
RewriteCond %{HTTP_USER_AGENT} Twiceler
RewriteRule .* - [F,L]
Options FollowSymLinks
RewriteEngine On
RewriteBase /

Doug
 Reply  
Rating: 0 Bob - 19 Jul 2007 6:28 AM
ban this ip, please.
 Reply  
Rating: 0 Trijnie - 10 Aug 2007 12:45 PM
Another IP from Twiceler: 208.36.144.8
 Reply  
Rating: 0 Kutsavi - 21 Aug 2007 5:15 PM
I've been searching around the web for info on Twiceler, as well as combing my access logs.  Combined from those two sources, here are the IP addresses I've blocked for Twiceler:

208.36.144.10
208.36.144.7
208.36.144.8
38.99.13.123
38.99.13.124
38.99.13.125
38.99.13.126
64.1.215.163
64.1.215.164
64.1.215.165
 Reply  
Rating: 0 Kutsavi - 21 Aug 2007 5:20 PM
Rating: 0 Mark - 8 Nov 2007 12:00 PM
This bot does not follow robots.txt. Here are their full IP ranges:

38.99.13.112 - 38.99.13.127
64.1.215.160 - 64.1.215.167
208.36.144.0 - 208.36.144.127
 Reply  
Rating: 0 Boon - 15 Dec 2008 5:26 PM
Thanks, adding to hosts.deny

38.99.13.112/28
64.1.215.160/29
208.36.144.0/27

This thing is a pest.
 Reply  
Rating: 0 Vito - 31 Dec 2008 11:29 AM
208.36.144.6 is also an ip adress which i found....
 Reply  

Leave a comment about Twiceler user agent:

Your Name  
Message  

  
Validation Code
Type the characters you see in the picture.
Thank you for your contribution!
Site Menu
Copyright adminter.net 2007